1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Pros and cons moving to 384

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by jappish84, Mar 14, 2018.

  1. jappish84

    jappish84 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    I'm sorry if this has been discussed earlier. I've searched for a thread discussing the move to the new codebase, but haven't found any active discussions other than what RMerlin has written about the new codebase.

    I'm no dev, nor do I have any knowledge in networking worth mentioning, but I would still like to hear your opinions on the pros and cons of moving over to the new codebase, and I say cons mainly because more and more things have moved to closed source. How will this affect future dev/new/custom features

    If I understand it correctly, moving to the new code would make it impossible to switch back to old FW if Asus decides to lock down even more.

    I'd love to hear your thoughts
     
    sentinelvdx likes this.
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. PDinDetroit

    PDinDetroit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2017
    Messages:
    40
    As I really, really like what RMerlin has put together, I moved to 384. As more and more vulnerabilities are discovered, I want to make sure that I have the ability to patch or mitigate quicker than not.
     
  4. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,351
    Location:
    Switzerland
    There's no need for a pro/contra discussion of the merits of running 380 vs 384 firmware.
    Asus and RMerlin will drop support for the 380 branch, at least for the newer ARM based models. MIPS models may get updates for some time but likely only for stock fw. And if you want to stay on pre 384 code, john's fork will be up-to date with patches as long as he is willing to maintain it.
     
    Butterfly Bones and sentinelvdx like this.
  5. jappish84

    jappish84 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Yeah, no doubt about it. I dare to say that everybody agrees that RMerlin has done some great work here. And the security security aspect of it makes a lot of sense

    Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
     
  6. jappish84

    jappish84 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    I'll definitely take a closer look at John's version.

    Well, there can't be any harm in having a discussion I think. What if Asus decides to lock up even more of the code, is there no possibility RMerlin and John could work together and create a FW thats stable, feature rich and looks great? Idk..

    Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
     
  7. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,351
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I meant it more like that reasons for the 382/384 switch are because Asus moves on and rmerlin logically follows on the same branch.
    These are upstream decisions and rmerlin generally doesn't not discuss his intentions. His decision to move along with the new code is not up to discussion and we should respect that.
    Hence, a discussion of variants, backports of new code or an entirely rmerlin/john fork of Asus firmware is moot.
    It will not happen.
     
    Protik, Seamaster and Butterfly Bones like this.
  8. jrmwvu04

    jrmwvu04 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    United States
    What @thelonelycoder is trying to say, I think, is that your “options” are to keep your firmware up to date (in which case you have no choice in what code it’s based on) or to use outdated firmware (in which case the con of “security risks as time passes” outweighs whatever pros you could conjure). So.. discussion concluded, basically.

    The only nuance is that depending on your router model, you have the lts fork available.
     
  9. FreshJR

    FreshJR Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Pros: Security
     
  10. unsynaps

    unsynaps Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Halethorpe, MD
    Discus what? Asus is moving forward with new code. it is you know... what you do. Move forward. This is needed to add new features. To support new hardware.

    Its not like choosing a black car over a red one.
     
  11. jappish84

    jappish84 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Yeah, I guess that's one way to think of it. I'm however not convinced that Asus has plans to make my "old" RT-AC3200 better or more feature rich. I would think they are focusing on new router releases and building code for these models so they can sell new routers. And yeah, I agree, it's not like choosing the color of you car, because in this case, you can't switch back, and that's why I'm in no hurry to update.

    If I understand it correctly, you won't even be able to switch to John's fork if you decide to see where the 834 road leads us?

    Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
     
  12. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,287
    Location:
    UK
    AFAIK You can, but you need to use recovery mode to load the older firmwares.
     
  13. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    27,706
    Location:
    Canada
    The RT-AC3200 is a special case. You cannot downgrade from 382 to 380 on that model because of the nvram upgrade to 128KB.
     
    ColinTaylor likes this.
  14. heysoundude

    heysoundude Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    Messages:
    225
    maybe it's more like climbing a rope - one hand over the other pulls you up to the top. sometimes the rope wears out, and other times you look for a new rope at the end of the old one. But yes, the point of "evolve or die" is valid
     
  15. jerry6

    jerry6 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Montreal
    384 works really well on the 3200 , at least it has on mine . Got a boost in transfer speed and has been super stable . I held off for a while , but no regrets making the switch
     
  16. jappish84

    jappish84 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    That's good to hear. I have been having stability issues, especially on the 2.4 Ghz band, and some odd behavior with OpenVPN clients turning off and complaining about wrong authentication. Not sure if I can blame it on the router though because I have been lazy and should have done a factory reset a long time ago.
     
  17. jerry6

    jerry6 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Montreal
    I had those problems as well , has gone since using latest 384.4beta3 , no more vpn client disconnects , or happens very rarely now . 2days no disconnects .
    And moving to 384 a factory reset is mandatory
     
  18. AndreiV

    AndreiV Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    519
    Location:
    UK
    Johns firmware is not supported on an AC3200 so your choice is Asus or Merlin.

    My Ac3200 is using Merlin's 384.4 beta3 and it is working flawlessly.
     
  19. cmkelley

    cmkelley Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    112
    I wish I could say the same about my 3200. My 3200 with 384 can't seem to get the IP through the cable modem (it's in bridge mode). I hooked a laptop directly to the cable modem in the same port the 3200 plugs into and it gets the public IP address no problem. The problem is, I don't know if it's 384 (doesn't seem likely) or something has gone wrong with the router (I'm at a loss to explain what could go wrong that could possibly cause that but the router still work). Unfortunately the 3200 is the ONE router you can't go back to pre-384 with. :(

    The thing is, just before I tried 384, my 3200 mysteriously came up with the gui language set to Korean. I'm wondering if one of our cats sat on it and overheated something - we've shooed them off it before. In the grand tradition of changing two things at once, I "fixed" the language problem by doing a factor reset and immediately flashing 384, so I don't know if was working after the mysterious language change - I do know it was working superbly before that.

    I've factory reset both the modem and the router many times. I've tried both 384.3 and 384.4 beta 3. When I get home tonight I'm going to try flashing stock ASUS firmware and see if there's a difference. I'm on the verge of plunking down for an 86U since it stands upright so cats can't sit on it for warmth (and it seems to be a great router), but I was hoping to hold out for a new router until either 802.11ad or ax settles as the next standard.
     
  20. jappish84

    jappish84 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    ]

    Great to hear @jerry6 and @AndreiV

    @cmkelley

    That happened to me a couple of weeks back, but I just can't seem to remember how I fixed it. Pretty sure I searched and found the solution here on the forums though

    Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
     
  21. jappish84

    jappish84 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    BTW, have there been any changes in 384 compared to 380.xx to FTPS or nfs?

    Are they configured as before?

    Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!