1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

N66U - Latency Issues on League of Legends

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by MonsterGunther, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. MonsterGunther

    MonsterGunther New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Recently I installed AsusMerlin 380.69, so far I was using the official without any issues but I decided to try.
    Simple setup, 1 PC wired and a phone over WiFi. Reboot router before installin the firmware, did a factory reset after and that was pretty much all the customization.

    But..when I begun playing League of Legends without getting Ping spikes (I'm around 37-39ms) suddenly the connection dropped, on and off, sometimes was Ok and other times it was unplayable.
    -QoS is disabled
    -HW NAT is disabled
    -Firewall is disabled

    any other ideas of what can it be? Or should I rollback to the original firm, because this one is not suited for Gaming?
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. adampk17

    adampk17 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    I think you’d want both HW NAT and the firewall enabled. Can’t say that has a thing to do with your issue but it’d be worth a shot.
     
  4. MonsterGunther

    MonsterGunther New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Already did, Firewall Enabled and NAT Accelerator on Auto.
     
  5. MonsterGunther

    MonsterGunther New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Well tried it all. I'll have to rollback to the previous firmware, utter piece of shit.
     
  6. DonnyJohnny

    DonnyJohnny Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2017
    Messages:
    467
    No one ask you to use the firmware. Did you pay for the service?
    People tried to assist you. Not even a thank you from your shitty mouth.
     
  7. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    27,094
    Location:
    Canada
    The issue is your setup, not the firmware. Wifi performance is identical to the stock firmware because it's the exact same driver, with the same configuration code.

    For starter, you have HW nat disabled, which WILL reduce performance...

    You also disable the firewall, which you should NOT ever do unless troubleshooting something.
     
    Vexira likes this.
  8. M@rco

    [email protected] Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Please do roll back to stock, so you can find out you're having the exact same issues (with less functionality). Your problem lies elsewhere, not within Asuswrt-Merlin.

    Oh wow, that's really constructive feedback and definitely showing appreciation for all the years of voluntary effort which has gone into it. You might as well stick with stock firmware, no one is really waiting for Gunthers monstrous comments...
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
    Vexira likes this.
  9. Vexira

    Vexira Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    1,259
    Location:
    Australia
    Tried replacing the unit with an 86u?
    Also you forgot to factory reset the box.
     
    [email protected] likes this.
  10. MonsterGunther

    MonsterGunther New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Setup is fine, it was working 30 min. before installing the new firmware. I disabled those things just to check if that was the issue, did my share of google+snb forum before posting this. BTW, if HW NAT is NAT Accelerator then I have two options, disabled and Auto. Its set on Auto.

    My unit was working fine, why replacing it? Also, no I don't have an 86U around. I did a factory reset after the installation, it's on my first post :p

    If this is a support forum and I gave all the information I had about my issue, then, the feedback is what you (the other guys) are supposed to give, amirite? In any case, money on the donation bucket is a better way to "show appreciation" you know, thanks you don't pay the bills. Kiddo.
     
  11. adampk17

    adampk17 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Have you checked temps? Maybe they are getting high and the CPU is throttling. The fact that the router “was working for 30 mins” on the stock firmware isn’t a super great test.
     
  12. MonsterGunther

    MonsterGunther New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    No, the router was working on stock firmware since 2013 (of course it was updated regularly), when I bought it. IMHO seems that some packets are dropped during the game. I don't torrent nor stream netflix/youtube while playing windows is up to date, and no antivirus interferes
    • Temps. around 54 degrees celsius
    • Core around 3-4%
    • No USB drive plugged
    • QoS disabled
     
  13. Stephen Becker

    Stephen Becker Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Have you tried leaving a ping /t running during the game to see if the drops correspond to increased ping time?
    I like to leave two pings at the same time, one pinging the router (to test WiFI) and then other pinging Google's DNS 8.8.4.4 (to test the internet).

    It would also be worth testing over a wired connection. You might need to change channels on WiFi.
     
  14. MonsterGunther

    MonsterGunther New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    I'm using a wired connection, will try Ping to google while playing, thanks
     
  15. MonsterGunther

    MonsterGunther New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Well, after a few weeks trying to find a solution I can say there's something on this firmware that causes problem with online games like League of Legends. I reinstalled the old firmware and problem was gone, also with Merlin firmware I left a window doing ping to google while playing and 0% packets were lost. Don't know if any of you guys play LoL or any other game but have this issue in mind. cheers

    PING www.google.com (64.233.190.104): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 64.233.190.104: seq=0 ttl=46 time=147.286 ms
    64 bytes from 64.233.190.104: seq=1 ttl=46 time=34.610 ms
    64 bytes from 64.233.190.104: seq=2 ttl=46 time=33.006 ms
    64 bytes from 64.233.190.104: seq=3 ttl=46 time=33.942 ms
    64 bytes from 64.233.190.104: seq=4 ttl=46 time=41.206 ms

    --- www.google.com ping statistics ---
    5 packets transmitted, 5 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 33.006/58.010/147.286 ms
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!