Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

dd-wrt to merlin

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by okey, Apr 17, 2018.

  1. okey

    okey Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    I have just purchased a RT-AC56U, but I didn't realise it has the dd-wrt firmware on it, but I want merlin on this.

    Can I just flash the latest merlin firmware on this via the upgrade or is it more complicated than that.

    I have just tried updating the firmware but it just stuck on please wait for about 15 mins, I unlugged it and luckily it rebooted but still on dd-wrt firmware, am I doing something wrong
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. ppb

    ppb New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    I just did this recently for a rt-n66 with very old dd-wrt firmware. First did a factory reset and then upgraded it. Worked perfectly!

    Bought also a second (main) router. A rt-ac86. Also upgraded to merlin. Works perfectly!

    Merlin many thanks!
     
  4. AndreiV

    AndreiV Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    UK
    You have to factory reset to get Merlin working.
     
  5. okey

    okey Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    ok, do you mean, hold reset button down for 5 secs on back
     
  6. AndreiV

    AndreiV Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    375
    Location:
    UK
    On the Asus GUI , firmware page there is a factory reset button.
     
  7. ppb

    ppb New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    I also did it via the dd-wrt gui AND after a reboot 10 seconds reset button
     
  8. Andy1932

    Andy1932 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Maybe try the ASUS firmware restoration utility?
     
  9. okey

    okey Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    guys, still cant get it to flash, it goes through the procedure of updating, but when it restarts its still on dd-wrt firmware gui.

    i have tryed to use restoration utility by holding reset while plugging in and holding 5 sec untill blue led flashes but the utillity will not connect

    firmware version on the asus is Firmware: DD-WRT v3.0-r33413 std (09/27/17)
     
  10. john9527

    john9527 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,189
    Location:
    United States
  11. okey

    okey Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    update, i can now get it to flash via restoration utility, but it says "failed to recover the system"

    i have tryed stock firmware from asus site, and new and old merlin firmware
     
  12. okey

    okey Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    sorted, thanks for all your help guys, Merlin 378.55 was the one i needed to flash and now updated to latest merlin.

    Thanks again guys
     
    Andy1932 likes this.
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!