1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Authentication failure on Asus router app after firmware upgrade

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Smokie, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. Smokie

    Smokie Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    As it states in the title. I updated the firmware the other night and seemed to have some issues with the router not been live on the app.
    I decided to delete it and when I reinstalled it I can no longer log in.

    Opening a browser and logging in with same user name and password works perfect. Issue seems to be just with the app.

    Anyone have a similar issue?
     
  2. Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!
  3. dctrbnsttr

    dctrbnsttr Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    I have written about the exact same problem elsewhere in these forums. RT AC5300 router. I have sent feedback to ASUS. So far, no response.
     
    Smokie likes this.
  4. Smokie

    Smokie Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    24

    Same router and feedback just sent.
     
  5. Smokie

    Smokie Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Anyone else encounter this issue? Still no word back from my feedback to Asus
     
  6. dctrbnsttr

    dctrbnsttr Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    I have heard nothing yet as well.
     
  7. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    USA
    Did the app enable Web access to your router and setup a DDNS client? If so, is this acceptable to you, security-wise?

    OE
     
  8. Smokie

    Smokie Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Yeah it looked like it did so I turned it off. Before the update I had tried the alexa skill, enabling this turns DDNS on but I disabled it because the skill was uselss
     
  9. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    USA
    Actually, I think the app enables Web access and DDNS for the app's remote access to your router. And now it is having trouble accessing your router locally after a firmware update. Think about it... do you really want Web access to your router subject to the uncertainties of router firmware and Android apps and updates?

    OE
     
  10. Smokie

    Smokie Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    No I think your wrong. Up to this update I could only access my router via the app while on my network. There is the option to enable it remotey and I tried this before.

    But your right I didn't want to leave something open so I disabled it.

    This issue we are reporting is possibly a big in the firmware.
     
  11. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    USA
    See your other post.

    OE
     
    Smokie likes this.
  12. Smokie

    Smokie Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    As far as I remember the firewall was off from when I bought this router. Don' think the app had anything to do with it. Im all confused now lol
     
  13. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    USA
    The default reason to buy a router is for its firewall which is ON by default.

    The app may not have touched your firewall, but it may have enabled remote access to your router, and if that is not 100% secure, then someone else could have accessed your router and perhaps turned your firewall off.

    The safe thing to do would be to factory default reset your router, reconfigure it from scratch, be sure to disable the questionable features, and don't use the app... imo.

    OE
     
    Smokie likes this.
  14. Smokie

    Smokie Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Cheers.. questionable features? Anything in particular? When I use the scan for security issues it states UPNP is on and recommends it off
     
  15. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    USA
    Also see the last firmware release... install it and then perform a factory rest.

    The security scan is a good review. Do what it says.

    Some items to consider:
    - wireless security, WPA2-Personal, AES
    - disable WPS
    - disable UPnP
    - confirm Telnet is disabled
    - confirm SSH is disabled
    - confirm Web Access from WAN is disabled
    - enable AiProtection/Network Protection and perform Router Security Assessment Scan

    And, I would avoid the app.

    OE
     
Please support SNBForums! Just click on this link before you buy something from Amazon and we'll get a small commission on anything you buy. Thanks!