1. Post filters have been ramped up due to high spam activity. If your post is marked for moderation, be patient. A moderator will review and release it as soon as possible.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

2x2 AC Access Point Roundup

Discussion in 'Wireless Article Discussions' started by thiggins, Dec 4, 2017.

  1. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    12,922
    [​IMG]
    Our roundup of 2x2 802.11ac access points shows top performance doesn't have to cost a lot.

    Read on SmallNetBuilder
     
    Nullity, DanH, Trentors and 2 others like this.
  2. ryedhel

    ryedhel New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    As someone looking to upgrade from an N router (used as AP only) to AC I'm wondering if an access point like one of these would serve well as opposed to purchasing a router to only use as an AP? Currently I have my router on the main floor. Coverage in basement and main floor is excellent. The 2nd floor coverage is very good but a little weak on the opposite side of the house as router. Will one of these equal the range and throughput as an actual router set up as an AP?
     
  3. DaveMcLain

    DaveMcLain Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    That's what I'm doing at my house. I use an old Linksys E3000 as the router with all of the wireless turned off and an AC-Lite as the AP. The router was placed pretty close to the cable modem in an ok but less than ideal spot for wifi coverage but with the AP having POE I was able to place it at the top of the staircase that goes down to the basement so it covers the whole house very effectively.

    Pulling the cable required some drilling and fishing and working in the attic but it was worth the effort.
     
  4. DanH

    DanH Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2016
    Messages:
    156
    At one time I was going to go the AP route, and even ordered 3 AC-HD's. Then I was like you know what, the orbi does fine, so i sent them back. Maybe one day, I will go AP's but I just don't see the need in my house. Not to mention my wife was a tad upset when she saw how much they were....
     
  5. DaveMcLain

    DaveMcLain Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Those ARE expensive. I would be curious to know if they out perform the AC-Lite and other much less expensive AP's in a home environment.
     
  6. GregD

    GregD Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    I'm interested to know if Tim's tests on OpenMesh gear were performed with Deep Packet Inspection "Layer7" option enabled or disabled. I disable this option on my OpenMesh networks because documentation says it results in even lower overall throughput and I don't have a need for additional information for my home networks. I have never conducted an actual test on this option while controlling variables to determine exactly how much throughput is affected. If this option was enabled during Tim's tests, it may contribute to the low overall throughput results he saw in his reviews.
     
  7. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    12,922
    I don't recall this setting, so did not change it from the default.
     
  8. GregD

    GregD Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    I'm not sure what the default setting is (enabled or disabled) but I've taken a screenshot of the "Application Reporting (DPI)" setting from the advanced page in Cloudtrax. Perhaps you can log into the network config settings and see whether it's enabled or not?

    OpenMeshAppReporting.jpg
     
  9. GregD

    GregD Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    10
  10. adamjb

    adamjb New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    If I had any confidence in TP-Link products' security or reliability, I might consider buying them. Until then it's slower and more-expensive but more-secure and more-reliable Unifi APs it is for me.

    I really do wish that Ubiquiti would work on improving performance. They just keep releasing more-expensive APs that don't seem much better in the AC-HD and their new "security" AP.
     
    weibo and Nemni like this.
  11. moosport

    moosport Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    I'm looking to replace existing Linksys E4200 V1 next year. It will be replaced with 1 or more POE enabled AP. The plan is to get Ubiquiti PRO unit since it supported 802af. Reliable consistent throughput is the top requirement. Not peak throughput. which should I get?
     
  12. BrokenHero

    BrokenHero New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Replaced my Asus 87U with Untangle UTM and Ubiquiti LR AP and could not be happier.
    Built Untangle with $50 Intel CPU (dual 3.2 GHz), $50 Motherboard, 4gb and $10 second NIC.
    The UniFi AP has frequent updates, seems more than other brands. Good stuff......
     
  13. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    12,922
    NETGEAR WAC505 has been added to the review.
     
  14. 5ECQWR

    5ECQWR New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    I'm looking for an AP with 'Time of Day Scheduling' - ability to shut off the radios at night - anyone know of an AP that offers this feature?
     
  15. Konda

    Konda New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    D60A3E04-378B-492C-A8E3-098448C282B1.png
    UniFi allows you to set up times for the wireless networks you create.
    Just get a couple of ubiquity ac pro’s and a Poe switch and sprinkle them around the place.
     
  16. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    12,922
    Many do. Check the AP Finder. Scheduling is a selectable attribute.
    https://www.smallnetbuilder.com/tools/finders/wireless/view
     
    Nullity likes this.
  17. 5ECQWR

    5ECQWR New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the feedback!
     
  18. claykin

    claykin Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,009
    Tim, curious why a roundup released in December was testing an OpenMesh product with firmware that is 6 months old (and at least 5 versions old) and the Ubiquiti with firmware from February 2017 (at least 10 versions old, actually more but I stopped counting). Even the Ubiquiti controller used is outdated. I'm guessing this is a repost from a previous test? If so, I still question why a roundup would just plugin numbers from tests done at various different stages.

    In Ubiquiti's current 3.9.x branch they definitely improved performance.. And 3.9.x has been out since late September.
     
    adamjb likes this.
  19. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    12,922
    Yes, the OpenMesh results from its review were reused. The Ubiquiti's results were from an unpublished retest back in September.

    I had a lot of other testing to do and I've yet to see firmware significantly change RvR performance in other products.
     
  20. ngsm13

    ngsm13 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Any testing or opinion on the TP-Link EAP245 (AC1750 WAP)?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page